It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (23/04/18)

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

What I Read Last (2) Week(s):

 

43.zack_mons kallentoft.jpg

Zack was actually a good mystery thriller. That’s saying something considering the abundance of those in that genre out there.

44.margot&me_juno dawson.jpg

I absolutely adored Margot & Me. What a lucky find!

45.sky in the deep_adrienne young

Sky In The Deep was such a fresh YA! We all love badass female protagonists but this is just on another level 😍

47.the lost children_theresa talbot

The Lost Children promised to be a gripping new thriller series featuring investigative journalist Oonagh (Just how more Irish can this name be?) O’Neil. It centers around Oonagh’s research into the Magdalane Institution, a place for girls who were shunned by society.

What I’m Reading Now:

46.speed reading book_tony buzan

I know what you’re thinking: “This is such a fantastic idea! I’d love to be able to speed read!”. Well let me tell you something, bookworms. The Speed Reading Book actually works. I’m only just past the introductory chapters and I’m seeing results. Stay tuned to see how this turns out 😉

48.no one ever asked_katie ganshert

The Goodreads blurb says No One Ever Asked is a ’emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult’. So, you get the essence of the feel of this book there.

Up Next:

49.divergent_veronica roth.jpg

I’m finally reading Divergent, guys. This book is, like, five years behind on my TBR.


I found that punctuating my TBR with books I would no doubt enjoy e.g. Divergent is a proven motivator.

Advertisements

Zack (Zack Herry, #1) by Mons Kallentoft

43.zack_mons kallentoft
Rating: 4/5 stars

Published: January 23rd 2018 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books

Genre(s): Fiction; Crime Thriller; Scandinavian Literature

Pages: 480 (eARC – Kindle)

“Zack Herry is the golden boy who has stumbled into a career in the Stockholm police force. At night, he hangs out at the clubs, partying with the people he should really be arresting. He knows that it won’t last, but he can’t help himself, even as he starts being investigated by internal affairs. But when four Thai women from a massage parlor in Stockholm are found brutally executed and a fifth badly mutilated and dumped outside a nearby hospital, Zack must get his act together and try to figure out the motives behind the vicious murders, together with his partner, Deniz. Only one thing is for sure: more women will die unless they find the killer.”

I would say the Mons Kallentoft’s writing style (and by extension the translation by Markus Lutteman) is smooth. One sentence cascade into another making it an easy reading experience. Read More »

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

39.when breath becomes air_paul kalanithi
Rating: 5/5 stars. Recommended!

Genre(s): Nonfiction; Memoir; Autobiography

Published: January 5th 2017 by Vintage (Paperback)

“At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live.

When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity – the brain – and finally into a patient and a new father.”

Read More »

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

40.before we were yours_lisa wingate
Rating: 5/5 stars. Recommended!

Genre(s): Fiction; Historical Fiction

Format: Ebook (BorrowBox Library)

Published: June 1st 2017 by MIRA

“Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice…

Born into a world of wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all. A loving daughter to her father, a US senator, with her own ambitious career as a lawyer and a handsome fiancé waiting for her in Baltimore, she has lived a charmed life.

But when Avery returns to Aiken to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with May Crandall, an elderly woman she’s never met before, leaves Avery deeply shaken. Avery’s decision to learn more about May’s life will take her on a journey through a hidden history of stolen children and illegal adoption. A journey that will reveal a secret that could lead to devastation…or redemption.”Read More »

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (09/04/18)

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.  It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment, and er… add to that ever growing TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog   and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. And here we are!

What I Read Last Week:

 

30.unlimited power_tony robbins

Well, I finally did it. I finished Unlimited Power. Practical, useful, highly recommended with only slight reservation, which you can read all about in my review.

40.before we were yours_lisa wingate.jpg

Before We Were Yours lived up to its promises. This one will stay with me for a long time…

41.forest_sonyahartnett

Forest is a fantastic choice as a before-bed audiobook, if I may say so. You can read all about it in my review.

39.when breath becomes air_paul kalanithi

It’s been a while since I’ve read writing as beautiful as Paul Kalanithi’s When Breath Becomes Air. This is what happens when you combine a neurosurgeon and talented writer in one person.

What I’m Reading Now:

42.understandingthealacran_jonlapoma

Now, I know I’ve decided to read Understanding the Alacran but after finishing the books lined up there, especially Before We Were Yours, I’m in the wrong sort of mood for this book. So, I’m ignoring the guilt and putting this book aside for now. Let’s hope I’ll pick it up some time soon…

43.zack_mons kallentoft.jpg

I received Zack through NetGalley ages ago, and just now getting round to reading it. It is about DI Zack Herry who upholds the law by day, and mixes with the wrong crowd by night.

44.margot&me_juno dawson.jpg

I browsed BorrowBox, hunting for my next audiobook and stumbled upon Margot & Me. It’s an LGBT-YA-historical fiction. Talk about crossing genres.

Up Next:

45.sky in the deep_adrienne young

No way, is Sky In The Deep really due for a review?! I’ve been itching to get to this book for so long. It’s been waiting oh so patiently in my review schedule! I’m so nervous, people are raving about this book so much that I’m afraid it won’t live up to the hype. (How many times has that been written in the book-blogosphere, I wonder?)


Lately I’m feeling like I’ve bitten off more than I can chew.

Forest by Sonya Hartnett

41.forest_sonyahartnett
Rating: 5/5 stars

Genre(s): Fiction; Children’s Fiction; Young-Adult; Fantasy

Format: Audiobook (Unabridged) – 6 hours 16 minutes. Read by Coraline Lee.

Published: March 25th 2013 by Bolinda Audio

“The forest is earth and leaves, sun and shade, feather and blood and bone. It is the old way, the true way, the wild way to live. But, for Kian, wilderness is not home.”

Isn’t this the shortest Goodreads blurb you’ve ever read? 😆 Nice and succinct!

Forest follows the journey of an abandoned litter of kittens and their older brother, Kian, and their journey home with, of course, detours. They encounter feral cats fighting to keep their territory. Also, they stumble upon a clowder of cats – a territory occupied by the female, the young, and the old. Read More »

Unlimited Power by Anthony Robbins

30.unlimited power_tony robbins
Rating: 4.5/5 stars. Recommended!

Genre(s): Nonfiction; Self-help; Personal Development; Psychology

Pages: 448 (Kindle)

Published: First published 1986

“Anthony Robbins calls it the new science of personal achievement. You’ll call it the best thing that ever happened to you. If you have ever dreamed of a better life, Unlimited Power will show you how to achieve the extraordinary quality of life you desire and deserve, and how to master your personal and professional life. Anthony Robbins has proven to millions through his books, tapes, and seminars that by harnessing the power of the mind you can do, have, achieve, and create anything you want for your life. He has shown heads of state, royalty, Olympic and professional athletes, movie stars, and children how to achieve. With Unlimited Power, he passionately and eloquently reveals the science of personal achievement and teaches you:
* How to find out what you really want
* The Seven Lies of Success
* How to reprogram your mind in minutes to eliminate fears and phobias
* The secret of creating instant rapport with anyone you meet
* How to duplicate the success of others
* The Five Keys to Wealth and Happiness
Unlimited Power is a revolutionary fitness book for the mind. It will show you, step by step, how to perform at your peak while gaining emotional and financial freedom, attaining leadership and self-confidence, and winning the cooperation of others. It will give you the knowledge and the courage to remake yourself and your world. Unlimited Power is a guidebook to superior performance in an age of success.”Read More »